Our Faculty

David Asmuth, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor of Medicine | MED: Internal Medicine
dasmuth@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: Research area focuses on immune reconstitution follow intiation of antiretroviral therapy and immunomodulatory therapy including therapeutic vaccines and cytokine therapy

 

Shota Atsumi, Ph.D.

Associate Professor | Chemistry
satsumi@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: Synthetic biology, Systems biology and Metabolic engineering approaches for valuable chemical production

 

Enoch P. Baldwin, Ph.D.

Associate Professor | Molecular & Cellular Biology
epbaldwin@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: Protein sequence structure-function relationships

 

Nicole Baumgarth, D.V.M., Ph.D.

Professor | VET MED: Pathology, Microbiology & Immunology
Center for Comparative Medicine
nbaumgarth@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: Immunity to influenza and Borrelia burgdorferi (Lyme disease)

 

Andreas Bäumler, Ph.D.

Professor | MED: Microbiology & Immunology
ajbaumler@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: Enteric Pathogens, the Host and its Gut Microbiota

 

Alison M. Berry, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus | Plant Sciences
amberry@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: Biological nitrogen fixation; root and rhizosphere plant-microbe associations, and applications in agroecology

 

Charles L. Bevins, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor | MED: Microbiology & Immunology
clbevins@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: Innate immunity at mucosal surfaces

 

Linda F. Bisson, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus | Viticulture & Enology
lfbisson@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: Carbon utilization in Saccharomyces cerevisiae

 

Barbara A. Byrne, D.V.M., Ph.D.

Professor | VET MED: Pathology, Microbiology & Immunology
bbyrne@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: Clinical microbiology and antimicrobial susceptibility, fecal pathogen pollution of the environment, marine mammal bacterial pathogens

 

Kiho Cho, D.V.M., Ph.D.

Professor | MED: Surgery
kcho@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: Role of murine endogenous retroviruses in post-injury/stress/sepsis immune disorder and multiple organ failure

 

Gitta Coaker, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor | Plant Pathology
glcoaker@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: Research interests focus understanding the interaction between bacterial  pathogens and plants at a biochemical level

 

Lark L A Coffey, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor | VET MED: Pathology, Microbiology & Immunology
lcoffey@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: Mosquito-borne virus ecology, evolution and emergence

 

Sean R. Collins, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor | Microbiology & Molecular Genetics
srcollins@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: How human neutrophils process dynamic extracellular chemical cues to guide their behavior.

 

Patricia A. Conrad, D.V.M., Ph.D.

Professor | VET MED: Pathology, Microbiology & Immunology
paconrad@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: Pathogenesis of Babesia and other tick-transmitted hemoprotozoa

 

Satya Dandekar, Ph.D.

Professor and Chair | MED: Microbiology & Immunology
sdandekar@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: HIV pathogenesis and mucosal immunology

 

Scott Dawson, Ph.D.

Associate Professor | Microbiology & Molecular Genetics
scdawson@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: Cytoskeletal dynamics in the life cycle of Giardia

 

Samuel L. Díaz Muñoz, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor | Microbiology & Molecular Genetics
samdiazmunoz@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: Our research focuses on the evolution, ecology, and molecular mechanisms of virus-virus interactions using genomics, experimental evolution, and environmental microbiology. The lab currently works on genetic exchange in two segmented RNA viruses: Cystovirus phages that infect Pseudomonas bacteria and influenza A viruses.

 

Jonathan Eisen, Ph.D.

Professor | MED: Microbiology & Immunology
jaeisen@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page | Lab Website
Research Interests: Microbial communities and molecular evolution

 

Joanne B. Emerson, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor | Plant Pathology
jbemerson@ucdavis.edu | Lab Website
Research Interests: viral community ecology, soil microbial ecology, virus-microbe-plant interactions, omics

 

Marc T. Facciotti, Ph.D.

Associate Professor | Biomedical Engineering
mtfacciotti@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: Microbial gene regulatory networks

 

Bryce Falk, Ph.D.

Professor | Plant Pathology
bwfalk@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: Virus:plant interactions, RNA interference applications

 

Mélanie Gareau, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor | VET MED: Anatomy, Physiology & Cell Biology
mgareau@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: Microbiota-gut-brain axis. Characterizing the microbiota-gut-brain axis in models of inflammatory bowel disease and following infection with an enteric bacterial pathogen. Determining the mechanisms involved in the development of the microbiota-gut-brain axis in early life.

 

Angela Gelli, Ph.D.

Professor | MED: Pharmacology
acgelli@ucdavis.edu | Lab Website
Research Interests: Fungal pathogenesis of the central nervous system

 

Dennis Hartigan-O'Connor, M.D., Ph.D.

Associate Professor | MED: Microbiology & Immunology
dhartigan@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: Immune control over chronic infections including HIV and HCV. Also interested in development of the immune system and how different developmental influences may control later responses to agents of chronic infection

 

Volkmar Heinrich, Ph.D.

Associate Professor | Biomedical Engineering
vheinrich@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: Biophysical foundations of cell and molecular behavior, and their role in immunity, infectious disease, cancer metastasis etc.

 

Matthias Hess, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor | Animal Science
mhess@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page | Lab Website
Research Interests: Systems microbiology, microbial processes in natural and artificial ecosystems, microbes and microbial enzymes for agricultural, medical, and industrial applications, microbe-host interaction, gastrointestinal microbiology, biofuels, bioproducts, bioremediation, microbial dark matter

 

Wolf-Dietrich Heyer, Ph.D.

Professor | Microbiology & Molecular Genetics
wdheyer@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: Mechanism, regulation, and clinical applications of homologous recombination

 

Neil Hunter, Ph.D.

Professor | Cell Biology & Human Anatomy; Microbiology & Molecular Genetics
nhunter@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page | Lab Website | Research Profile
Research Interests: Homologous Recombination: The mechanism and regulation of chromosome repair by homologous recombination and its role in chromosome transmission and genome stability
Post-Translational Protein Modification in Meiosis: The nature and function of post-translational modifications of proteins involved in chromosome metabolism during meiosis

 

Michele Igo, Ph.D.

Professor | Microbiology & Molecular Genetics
mmigo@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: Outer surface properties and sensory transduction in bacteria
 

Stephen Kowalczykowski, Ph.D.

Distinguished Professor | Microbiology & Molecular Genetics
sckowalczykowski@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page | Lab Website
Research Interests: Genetic recombination and DNA repair in bacteria, yeast, and humans; Cancer biochemistry

 

Marcelo J. Kuroda, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor | VET MED: Anatomy, Physiology and Cell Biology
mjkuroda@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: 1) Determining the role of monocyte/macrophages in the pathogenesis of infectious diseases, chronic inflammation and aging; 2) Examining the immunology of aging, and; 3) Assessing the roles of macrophages in the pathogenesis of TB using the macaque model of TB/SIV.

 

Patrick Leung, Ph.D.

Adjunct Professor | MED: Internal Medicine
psleung@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: Primary biliary cirrhosis and other autoimmune diseases  

 

Johan Leveau, Ph.D.

Associate Professor | Plant Pathology
jleveau@ucdavis.edu | Lab Website
Research Interests: Plant-microbe interactivities in the phytosphere; microbial ecology of plants

 

Su-Ju Lin, Ph.D.

Professor | Microbiology & Molecular Genetics
slin@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: Molecular mechanisms of longevity

 

Bo Liu, Ph.D.

Professor | Plant Biology
bliu@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page | Lab Website
Research Interests: Cytoplasmic organization in plants and fungi

 

Paul Luciw, Ph.D.

Professor | Pathology & Laboratory Medicine
Center for Comparative Medicine
paluciw@ucdavis.edu | Pathology Faculty Page | CCM Faculty Page
Research Interests: Persistent infection with HIV and herpesviruses

 

Maria L. Marco, Ph.D.

Associate Professor | Food Science & Technology
mmarco@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page | Lab Website
Research Interests: Beneficial bacteria associated with plants and animals

 

Stephen J. McSorley, Ph.D.

Professor | VET MED: Anatomy, Physiology & Cell Biology
Center for Comparative Medicine
sjmcsorley@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: Innate and adaptive immune responses to Salmonella and Chlamydia infection; Mucosal Immunology; Vaccination against Salmonella

 

John C. Meeks, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus | Microbiology & Molecular Genetics
jcmeeks@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: Sensory transduction and differentiation in cyanobacteria

 

Christopher J. Miller, D.V.M., Ph.D.

Professor | VET MED: Pathology, Microbiology & Immunology
cjmiller@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: Pathogenesis and vaccine development in HIV and influenza

 

David A. Mills, Ph.D.

Professor | Food Science & Technology
damills@ucdavis.edu | Lab Website
Research Interests: Influence of diet on gut microbiota; food fermentations

 

Douglas C. Nelson, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus | Microbiology & Molecular Genetics
dcnelson@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: Biology of microbial sulfur transformations

 

Rebecca Parales, Ph.D.

Professor | Microbiology & Molecular Genetics
reparales@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: Bacterial degradation of environmental pollutants

 

Niels Pedersen, D.V.M., Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus | VET MED: Pathology, Microbiology & Immunology
ncpedersen@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: Immunopathogenesis of feline retroviruses

 

Bennett Penn, M.D., Ph.D.

Assistant Professor | MED: Microbiology & Immunology
bhpenn[at]ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: My laboratory uses proteomics and molecular genetics to elucidate how M. tuberculosis disrupts the host immune system

 

Richard V. Pereira, D.V.M., Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Clinical Livestock Herd Health | VET MED: Population Health and Reproduction
rvpereira@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: Antimicrobial resistance in cattle, with a focus on enteric and zoonotic pathogens, the microbiota, and applied management practices to improve stewardship of antimicrobial drug use

 

Marty Privalsky, Ph.D.

Professor | Microbiology & Molecular Genetics
mlprivalsky@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: Gene activation and repression of human nuclear hormone receptors

 

Katherine S. Ralston, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor | Microbiology & Molecular Genetics
ksralston@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: Parasitology and host-pathogen interactions. Pathogenesis of Entamoeba histolytica infection. Host and amoeba cell biological pathways including phagocytosis, cytotoxicity, cell death and repair

 

Jorge Rodrigues, Ph.D.

Associate Professor | Land, Air & Water Resources
jmrodrigues@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: Soil microbiology, biological regulation of biogeochemical cycles, microbial diversity, land use change, tropical forest conservation and ecology, C and N turnover in termite hindguts

 

Pamela Ronald, Ph.D.

Distinguished Professor | Plant Pathology & the Genome Center
pcronald@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: The role that genes play in a plant's response to its environment

 

John Roth, Ph.D.

Distinguished Professor | Microbiology & Molecular Genetics
jrroth@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page | Lab Website
Research Interests: Origin of mutations during selection in Salmonella

 

Stefan Rothenburg, M.D., Ph.D.

Associate Professor | MED: Microbiology & Immunology
rothenburg@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: Virology, Innate Immunity, Host-Virus Interactions, Host-Virus Evolution

 

Jeroen Saeij, Ph.D.

Associate Professor | VET MED: Pathology, Microbiology & Immunology
jsaeij@ucdavis.edu | Lab Website
Research Interests: We study host-parasite interactions between the intracellular parasite Toxoplasma gondii and its hosts. Toxoplasma can cause severe disease but its virulence differs, often quite dramatically, depending on the infecting strain and the host.  Our focus is to identify genes of Toxoplasma that modulate the host cell and/or determine virulence, host genes and pathways that determine resistance/susceptibility, and to characterize their specific interactions.

 

Michael A. Savageau, Ph.D.

Professor | Biomedical Engineering
masavageau@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: Function, design and evolution of gene circuitry

 

Barbara Shacklett, Ph.D.

Professor | MED: Microbiology & Immunology
blshacklett@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: Cell-mediated immune responses to HIV and other viruses in mucosal tissues

 

Priya Shah, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor | Chemical Engineering, Microbiology & Molecular Genetics
prsshah@ucdavis.edu | Lab Website
Research Interests: Mosquito-borne flaviviruses such as dengue virus and Zika virus are a source of emerging and re-emerging infectious diseases. We study how these viruses hijack host machinery through virus-host protein interactions to better understand their replication and develop therapeutics. We use complementary techniques of global proteomics, genetics, and high-throughput sequencing to tackle these questions.

 

Justin B. Siegel, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor | Chemistry
jbsiegel@ucdavis.edu | Lab Website
Research Interests: Computational enzyme design & engineering novel biosynthetic pathways

 

Christopher W. Simmons, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor | Food Science & Technology
cwsimmons@ucdavis.edu | Lab Website
Research Interests: Energy, water use and quality, food processing, genetics, microorganisms, soil science, sustainability, metagenomics, metatranscriptomics, microbial communities, lignocellulose deconstruction, biofuels, bioenergy

 

Mitchell H. Singer, Ph.D.

Professor | Microbiology & Molecular Genetics
mhsinger@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: Sensory transduction in development of Myxococcus xanthus

 

Carolyn Slupsky, Ph.D.

Professor | Nutrition
cslupsky@ucdavis.edu | Lab Website
Research Interests: Dr. Slupsky's research includes understanding the impact of diet on human health from the perspective of nutrition, the gut microbiome, and host-microbial co-metabolism. She uses a multi-discplinary research approach that integrates metabolomics with clinical measures, global gene expression profiles, as well as microbial community analysis to understand the intimate link between our gut microbiome, metabolism, and health.

 

Wourtrina (Miller) Smith, Ph.D.

Professor | VET MED: Medicine & Epidemiology
wasmith@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: Uses One Health approaches to investigate the epidemiology and transmission dynamics of zoonotic pathogens locally in California as well as internationally at multiple project sites in Africa and Asia

 

Jay V. Solnick, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor | MED: Microbiology & Immunology
Center for Comparative Medicine
jvsolnick@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: Pathogenesis of Helicobacter

 

Esteban Soto-Martinez, Ph.D.

Associate Professor | VET MED: Medicine & Epidemiology
sotomartinez@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: Main research interests are to understand the pathogenesis of important infectious diseases of aquatic animals, and to develop strategies to protect animals from these diseases

 

Ellen (Liz) Sparger, Ph.D.

Associate Adjunct Professor | VET MED: Medicine & Epidemiology
eesparger@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: Retroviral pathogenesis and vaccine development; AIDS vaccine development; Tumor immunology

 

Jeffrey Stott, Ph.D.

Professor | VET MED: Pathology, Microbiology & Immunology
jlstott@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: Immunopathogenesis of infectious diseases in ruminant, equine and marine mammals

 

Dawn Y. Sumner, Ph.D.

Professor | Earth and Planetary Sciences
dysumner@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: Evolution and ecology of microbial communities throughout Earth history and the origin of oxygenic photosynthesis

 

Ilias Tagkopoulos, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor | Computer Science
iliast@cs.ucdavis.edu | Lab Website
Research Interests: Emergence and dynamics of complex traits during microbial evolution, systems and synthetic biology

 

Loubna Tazi, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor | MED: Microbiology & Immunology
ltazi@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: Evolutionary genetics and population dynamics of pathogens; Host-pathogen interactions; Evolution of drug resistance in pathogens

 

George Thompson, M.D.

Associate Professor of Medicine | MED: Microbiology & Immunology
grthompson@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: Current research focuses on the host-pathogen interaction of humans and both Coccidioides spp. (the agent of "Valley Fever"), and Cryptococcus spp

 

Jose V. Torres, Ph.D.

Professor | MED: Microbiology & Immunology
jvtorres@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: Tumor immunology and vaccine development

 

Renee Tsolis, Ph.D.

Professor | MED: Microbiology & Immunology
rmtsolis@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: Immune evasion and Type IV secretion in Brucella

 

Rachel L. Vannette, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor | Entomology & Nematology
rlvannette@ucdavis.edu | Lab Website
Research Interests: Understanding and predicting how microbial communities influence interactions between plants and insects.

 

Luxin Wang, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor | Food Science and Technology
lxwang@ucdavis.edu | Lab Website
Research Interests: Ecology of foodborne pathogens, Impact of product shelf life on food safety, antibiotic-resistant genes and pathogens in food production chain

 

Bart C Weimer, Ph.D.

Professor | VET MED: Population Health & Reproduction
bcweimer@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: Microbial physiology, genomics, and stress of industrial and foodborne pathogens

 

Lifeng Xu, Ph.D.

Associate Professor | Microbiology & Molecular Genetics
lfxu@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: Mechanisms of human telomere length regulation and end protection

 

Tilahun Yilma, D.V.M., Ph.D.

Professor | VET MED: Pathology, Microbiology & Immunology
tdyilma@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: Vaccine development in AIDS and smallpox

 

Glenn M. Young, Ph.D.

Professor | Food Science & Technology
gmyoung@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: Type III protein secretion in Yersinia

 

Huaijun Zhou, Ph.D.

Professor | Animal Science
hzhou@ucdavis.edu | Faculty Page
Research Interests: Research in immunogenetics, molecular genetics, functional genomics, and bioinformatics in poultry