Our Students

Carl Basbas

ctbasbas@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Richard Pereira
Undergraduate Institution: St. Edward's University, Austin TX
Research Interests: Infectious disease or agricultural microbiology

 

Zachary Bendiks

zabendiks@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Maria Marco
Undergraduate Institution: University of California, Davis
Research Interests: Genomics, probiotics, microbial impacts on food and human health

 

Glory Bui

gtbui@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Maria Marco
Undergraduate Institution: University of California, San Diego
Research Interests: Host-microbe interactions

 

Alex Burkert

acburkert@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Incoming Student- Research Rotations
Undergraduate Institution: UC Irvine (B.S.) and CSU Northridge (M.S.)
Research Interests: Soil microbial ecology

 

Bardo A. Castro

barcastro@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Gitta Coaker
Undergraduate Institution: University of California, Davis
Research Interests: Host-microbe interactions, genetics, gene regulation

 

Megan Christensen

megchristensen@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Incoming Student- Research Rotations
Undergraduate Institution: University of Wisconsin-Madison
Research Interests: evolution, microbial symbioses, eukaryogenesis, food microbiology/fermentation

 

Laurynne Chetelat Coates

lnchetelat@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Carolyn Slupsky
Undergraduate Institution: University of California, Berkeley
Research Interests: Host-pathogen and vector-pathogen interactions of citrus greening disease

 

Morgan Connolly

mpconnolly@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Justin Siegel
Undergraduate Institution: SUNY College Environmental Science Forestry

 

Trevor Croft

tjcroft@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Su-Ju Lin
Undergraduate Institution: University of Wisconsin

 

Adam Fishburn

atfishburn@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Incoming Student- Research Rotations
Undergraduate Institution: UC Merced
Research Interests: Tropical Infectious Diseases

 

Jessica Franco

jyfranco@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Gitta Coaker
Undergraduate Institution: University of Arizona

 

Isaac Gifford

isgifford@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Alison Berry
Undergraduate Institution: University of Texas, Austin

 

Charles Graddy

cmgraddy@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Douglas Nelson
Undergraduate Institution: University of California, Davis
Research Interests: microbial ecology

 

Brittany Greenwood

bblankenship@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Christopher Simmons

 

Ben Groth

bgroth@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Su-Ju Lin
Undergraduate Institution: University of Wisconsin-Madison
Research Interests: Microbial community profiling, enzyme discovery, biotechnology, evolution

 

Mariana Guedes Weber

mguedesweber@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Satya Dandekar
Undergraduate Institution: Rio de Janeiro, Federal Institute of Sci. Educ., and Tech. IFRJ
Research Interests: Infectious diseases, virology and molecular biology

 

Sarah Guest

slguest@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Scott Dawson
Undergraduate Institution: University of California, Davis

 

Taylor Heckman

tiheckman@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Esteban Soto-Martinez
Undergraduate Institution: Willamette University
Research Interests: Host-pathogen interactions

 

Dustin Heeney

ddheeney@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Maria Marco
Undergraduate Institution: Boise State University
Research Interests: Microbiology of the human GI system

 

Britta Heiss

beheiss@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: David. A. Mills

 

Nicholas Hilton

nhilton@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Scott Dawson
Undergraduate Institution: Brown University
Research Interests: eukaryotic parasites, cellular biology, host pathogen interaction

 

Alexandria Igwe

aigwe@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Rachel L. Vannette
Undergraduate Institution: Howard University
Research Interests: microbial ecology, genomics, and bioremediation of organic contaminants

 

Nick Jensen

yenjensen@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: David Mills
Undergraduate Institution: Dartmouth College
Research Interests: influence of diet on gut microbiota and human health; microbial metabolism; host - microbe interactions; microbial ecology

 

Hyunsoo Kim

hyunsookim@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Marc Facciotti
Undergraduate Institution: University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Research Interests: Synthetic biology, biotechnology, bioengineering

 

Tyler Laird

tslaird@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Incoming Student- Research Rotations
Undergraduate Institution: Azusa Pacific University
Research Interests: Genomics, Bioinformatics/Computational Biology, One-Health, Vector-Borne Diseases, Insect-Microbe Interactions, Biomedical Text-mining

 

Courtney Leligdon

cjleligdon@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Incoming Student- Research Rotations
Undergraduate Institution: University of Arizona
Research Interests: Host-Microbe Interactions, Microbiome, Genetic Basis for Microbial Behavior

 

Marina E. De León

msdeleon@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Jonathan Eisen
Undergraduate Institution: University of California, Davis
Research Interests: Wildlife diseases and biocontrol

 

Jonathan Lin

johlin@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Jorge Rodrigues
Undergraduate Institution: Calvin College

 

William Louie

willouie@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Lark Coffey
Undergraduate Institution: University of California, Berkeley
Research Interests: microbial diversity, evolution, metagenomics, extremophiles

 

Dee Dee Luu

ddluu@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Pam Ronald
Undergraduate Institution: University of California, Irvine
Research Interests: Type I secretion in Xanthomonas oryzae pv. oryzae and avrXA21 signaling and perception

 

Chad Masarweh

cfmasarweh@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: David Mills
Undergraduate Institution: University of California, Davis

 

Shane McInally

sgmcinally@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Scott Dawson
Undergraduate Institution: University of California, Riverside

 

Dewi Megawati (Mega)

amegawati@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Stefan Rothenburg
Undergraduate Institution: Bandung Institute of Technology, Indonesia
Research Interests: host-pathogen interaction, vector-borne diseases, innate immune response

 

David Merriam

dpmerriam@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Dennis Hartigan
Undergraduate Institution: Metropolitan State College, Denver

 

Brittany Miller

bmill@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Andreas Baumler
Undergraduate Institution: Cornell University

 

Jessica Mizzi

jemizzi@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Dawn Sumner
Undergraduate Institution: Michigan State University

 

Jared Nigg

jcnigg@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Bryce Falk
Undergraduate Institution: Montana State University Bozeman

 

Benjamin Nittayo

benittayo@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Incoming Student- Research Rotations
Undergraduate Institution: California State University, Los Angeles
Research Interests: Vaccine Development

 

Chorong Park

chopark@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Stefan Rothenburg
Undergraduate Institution: Konkuk University in South Korea
Research Interests: Virology and host interaction

 

Beau Parry

bhparry@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Renee Tsolis
Undergraduate Institution: University of California, Davis

 

Beatriz Merchel P Pereira

bmpereira@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Ilias Tagkopoulos
Undergraduate Institution: Federal University of Parana, Brazil
Research Interests: Synthetic biology, fermentation, biofuels

 

Marc Pollack

mepollack@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Bryce Falk
Undergraduate Institution: University of California, Davis
Research Interests: Satellite RNAs, their structures and associated functionalities, plant viruses, and pathogen detection

 

Eric Pomaranski

ekpomaranski@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Esteban Soto-Martinez
Undergraduate Institution: University of Michigan
Research Interests: Host-microbe interactions, biotechnology, microbial genetics

 

Mohammad Julhasur Rahman

mjrahman@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Stefan Rothenburg

 

Abigail Ray

abray@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Incoming Student- Research Rotations
Undergraduate Institution: University of Massachusetts Amherst
Research Interests: Host-microbe interactions, microbial ecology

 

Phylicia Robins

parobins@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Angie Gelli
Undergraduate Institution: University of Illinois, Urbana

 

Andrew Rogers

awrogers@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Andreas Bäumler
Undergraduate Institution: University of California, Santa Cruz
Research Interests: Bacterial Pathogenesis, Biofilms, and Bacterial Physiology

 

Jordan Sayre

jmsayre@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Jorge Rodrigues
Undergraduate Institution: Sonoma State University
Research Interests: Microbial Communities, Metagenomics

 

Hannah Starcevich

hnstarcevich@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Scott Dawson
Undergraduate Institution: Walla Walla University
Research Interests: Parasitology, Host-Pathogen Interaction

 

Eric Stevens

etstevens@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Maria Marco
Undergraduate Institution: SUNY College Environmental Science Forestry

 

Gabriel Subuyuj

gasubuyuj@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Rebecca Parales
Undergraduate Institution: San Jose State University
Research Interests: Microbial genetics, metabolism, physiology, pathogenesis, microbial-host interactions and signal transduction.

 

Rene Suleiman

rlsuleiman@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Katherine Ralston
Undergraduate Institution: Regis University

 

Connor Tiffany

crtiffany@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Andreas Baumler
Undergraduate Institution: University of California, Davis
Research Interests: Microbiome, Host-Pathogen Interactions, Gut Homeostasis, Bioinformatics software development

 

April Tsai

jyatsai@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Renee Tsolis
Undergraduate Institution: National Chung Hsing University
Research Interests: Host-pathogen interaction

 

Gregory Walker

gtwalker@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Renee Tsolis
Undergraduate Institution: University of California, Davis

 

Kate Wall

kmwall@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Dawn Sumner
Undergraduate Institution: Mount Holyoke College
Research Interests: Microbial Ecology

 

Eric Walters

emwalters@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Scott Dawson
Undergraduate Institution: University of Wisconsin, Madison

 

C. Joy E. Walters

cewalters@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Incoming Student- Research Rotations
Undergraduate Institution: Point Loma Nazarene University
Research Interests: Microbial community dynamics in the mammalian GI tract; interactions between gut microbes and host immune system; gastrointestinal disease.

 

Lei Wei

leiwei@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Incoming Student- Research Rotations
Undergraduate Institution: Wellesley College
Research Interests: host-microbe interactions, microbial impacts on nutrition and human health, proteomics

 

Alonna Wright

adwright@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Jorge Rodrigues

 

Matthew Wright

merwright@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Scott Dawson
Undergraduate Institution: University of California, Davis
Research Interests: Environmental microbiology; physiology and evolution of free-living protists.

 

Annabelle Yu

aoyu@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Maria Marco
Undergraduate Institution: Case Western Reserve University

 

Huibin Yu

glbyu@ucdavis.edu
Research Mentor: Stefan Rothenburg
Undergraduate Institution: University of California, Davis
Research Interests: The co-evolution and interaction between viruses with the immune system of viral hosts.