Student Publications & Awards 2016

The Graduate Group in Microbiology is very proud of our fantastic team.

Please also check out our latest news, and if you have an update you’d like to share on our website, please email our program coordinator (




Phylicia Aaron

  • Burroughs Welcome Fund Trainee Travel Award for Translational Science 2016 in Washington, D.C.
  • American Society for Microbiology (ASM) Minority Travel Award
  • Medical Mycological Society of the Americas (MMSA) and Immunomycologics (IMMY) Travel Award for ASM Microbe 2016 in Boston, MA

Jessica Franco

  • USDA National Institute of Food and Agriculture Predoctoral Fellowship

Dustin Heeney

  • National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship
  • Best Poster Award at the International Scientific Association for Prebiotics and Probiotics in Turku, Finland
  • Henry A. Jastro Research Award

Alexandria Igwe

  • Henry A. Jastro Research Award and Natural Reserve Grant Recipient

Jared Nigg

Beau Parry

  • Floyd and Mary Schwall Fellowship in Medical Research

Mohammad Julhasur Rahman

  • 10th annual UC Davis host microbe interaction retreat poster research award

Jordan Sayre

  • Henry A. Jastro Research Award

Eric Stevens

Gregory Walker

  • Animal Models of Infectious Diseases (AMID) T32 Training Grant